Reviews

Royal Indigo Villa - Review of Royal indigo Villa, Talpe - TripAdvisor

Reviewed 13 June 2018 for a stay in April 2018 I spent a week at the Royal Indigo Villa in April this year and I can't recommend it highly enough. Everything was perfect from the absolute beachfront location to the wonderful and attentive staff who anticipated my every need.

Other Guests Reviews


09/07/2018
ROYAL Indigo Villa was our base for a week long family holiday/celebration. It Is immediately obvious how much care of attention to detail Erandi + Stue have put into the villa. The traditional style lends itself to the soothing ceilings and there are beautiful pieces throughout the villa.
For some in our group it was their first time to Sri Lanka so the location was not only spectacular but very convenient for us to have short trips to Galle Fort, turtle hatchery, Koggala lake etc – which was also perfect for the younger children.
The surfers in the group headed off most mornings – again a big plus for the location and of course the pool was enormously popular with everyone + made a spectacular backdrop for the ocean.
Thanks so much
Carolyn xxx


24/12/18
The moment we arrived at Royal Indigo, we received such a warm and special welcome from the team and from then, we knew we were set for a wonderful stay.
With the benefit of hindsight though, the welcome started 6 months (!) earlier, when Stue and Erandi made themselves available to our constant request for information through email of or telephone cells. Nothing was ever too much trouble as we looked to plan our 8 day stay for a family of 9!
The villa itself is absolutely magnificent, it is spacious, airy, architecturally wonderful and is decorated via sophisticated yet charming way. Moreover, each of the four bedrooms are unique, with two on the top floor having the best views imaginable.
The plunge pool and outdoor bathroom was pure showbiz. The pool area is so classy and the garden, bbq are and private beach make up a fantastic outdoor offering. As a villa, Royal Indigo scores 10/10.however the staff scores it higher, if possible. Lakmal the gm looked after all our needs, all our wishes were catered with a smile. Janaka the chef cooked the most amazing food and nothing was too much trouble. Kavish runs around supporting him and would do anything to help. Isuru, did an amazing job at keeping the villa spotless. Running around after 3 teenage girls isn’t easy, and he did it with a smile on his face. Lakshman the gardener + security team kept the external logistics too.
As a family we feel absolutely blessed to have spent Christmas is such a beautiful country, a beautiful villa so thankyou all for making our holiday so wonderful.
From the Linkleters in Surrey, UK.


25/12/18
Welcome to paradise!
Our holiday here has been perfect, Stuart and Erandi have considered every detail and couldn’t have been more helpful. Lakmal the manager is a welcome host, with the people here going above and beyond for everything that is needed.
Janaka will cook you the best food on the Island (I have no doubt) he cooks from the heart and nothing is too much trouble.
Isuru, the kindest person who will make sure everything is lovely and taken care of for you. Kaveesh also wonderful as is Laxman who obviously cares very much to assure the garden and beach looks spectacular every day. The villa as you can see is delightful, but it is the heart of the people here that makes it a home. I’m sure this was Stuart and Erandi’s vision to create you a ‘home from love’, of course this makes us all want to return again and again.
So that leaves the to say a very by thankyou to you all, wishing the people love health and happiness.
Nicola and family (UK)


10/01/2019
To all the team at Royal Indigo, thank you for a wonderful four days at Thalpe. We have enjoyed the beautiful villa, pool & gardens. Our meals were great- best curries ever!
Colin, Prue, Harry, Earle, Pippa, Emma, Meg & Charlie (Australia)


26/01/2019
Thank you very much for everything. Each and everyday was a delight! Dear Mr. Janaka’s cooking was extraordinary! All the staff kind, diligent and thoughtful. The home is “tres chic” 😊 ‘love and greetings from Istanbul.
Dogan, Doga, Onat, Fatmagul – Gegeoglu & Umut, Ceren, Ali Aras – Gurbuz


January 2019
To the whole team at Royal Indigo (Lakmal, Isuru, Janaka, Lakshman, Kavish, Jayantha, Sunil, Erandi & Stuart).
Thank you enormously for a fantastic and highly memorable stay for our family of eight. We have stayed in many great places around the globe, but few would compete with Royal Indigo Villa. Every element of staying at this place, the simplest of finishing touches, and most of all the service and attentiveness of the team is what will make this such an unforgettable, luxury experience.
Some of the highlights include, Janaka’s cooking, Isuru’s amazing Sri Lankan cooking class and dinner, the security team (Sunil) waking us in the night to see a turtle laying its eggs, Lakshman on the first day showing us the pride he has in the garden and beach (and showing the boys the tree swing), Kavish’s constant focus on us and that all was ok, and Lakmal’s attention and focused management.
Finally, a massive thank you to Stuart & Erandi to their support months before our stay through to the final day where nothing was ever a problem.
Simply Topdrawer , amazing
The Rumble Rowes (Gareth,Clare,Jacob,Lily, Henry,William,John and Samuel)
p.s. And how could I forget our amazing experience at the local Buddhist Temple during festival time. Very humbling


05/02/2019
Thank you for a lovely stay at this beautiful place. We enjoyed the tranquillity of the place with the sound of crashing waves instead of the hustle and bustle of the streets. Great trips to Galle with cycling in historic centre and whale watching. What spectacular animals! The food & care at the house were magnificent!
Thanks,
Van-Osch Kuijpers family
Lotte,Iles,Mavis,Luerk and Styn Dymkke,Martien Nuigenie


10/02/2019
To the entire team at Royal Indigo Villa, thank you all so much for giving us such a spectacular and memorable holiday which allowed us to really enjoy the special birthday celebration in our family. The house is stunning, the food delicious and the scenery very beautiful indeed. You have all been wonderful to us and we are most grateful for your hospitality. We look forward to highly recommending you to all our family and friends. Best wishes to you all for a successful 2019.
With thanks,
Claire, Geoff, Lily, Max, Judy & Ian.
(KL, Malaysia) (Sydney, Australia)
P.s – we were so happy to be woken up by Sunil to go and see the Turtles in the middle of the night. Once in a life time experience!!!!


15/02/2019
Thank you for a very good stay at your wonderful place we were well served by the friendly staff who made it a perfect end to our 2-week adventure.
Cheers
Laura and family from Denmark.


25/02/2019
Second stay at Royal Indigo and hopefully not our last one. We had a great week. Thanks to Janaka, Isuru, and the rest of the team. You took great care of us. We missed Lesley a little bit at first but the cooking and everything was perfect just like last year.
See you in 2020!
Marcel, Inga, Yues & Chloe (The Netherlands)


25/02/2019
Beautiful house and location. Excellent cooks and very friendly team and manager. Up for a re-visit!
Rene & Wen-Ny from The Netherlands


13/04/2019
Dear Lakshman, Janaka, Isuru, Kavish and the two lovely gentlemen who run security.
Our stay here has been amazing, the house is immaculate, the pool is some of the best we’ve ever had & you have all made us feel so welcome throughout the week. Wishing you all the best for the future, a talented and warm bunch of people – we hope to return in the future!
HAPPY NEW YEAR & well wishes for you families – you’ve taken care of ours!
Much love from,
The Rajahs xxx p. s. food really was incredible!


23-27th April 2019
Wow!! Were our first words stepping in
Thankyou for our awesome stay. The staff were amazing, busy little bees just quietly getting on with their jobs and so friendly. The Villa ticked every luxury box and made our stay extra special. The pool overlooking the sea was incredible as well as opening the shutters and looking onto the sea in the morning with a cuppa tea. Décor phenomenal. The tea wheel actually inspired us to go on the hunt for one of our own. The Villa was such a lovely spot and to meet up with our friends The Youmans, the teenage kids had so much fun in the pool and passing in front of the mirror. Thankyou Janake for the delicious meals . the Tuna was “the best” Wishing you all the best in the future
We definately hope to return
Johan,Maria,Aidan & Liam Le Roux (Zimbabwe)


29 . 04 2019
Thank you to the staff who were friendly and polite to us during our short stay at the Royal Indigo Villa. We enjoyed the peaceful stay and the hospitality at the Villa. Hope to visit for a longer stay in the future.
Ishan & Christini
USA


30.6.19 – 5.7.19
Spent five nights at this amazing Villa. Pool was well used as was the swing next door! Chef Janaka cooked us amazing meals . Totally recommend his cooking. Staff all very accommodating, helpful , friendly. Our Tuk Tuk drivers willing to take us anywhere at short or “no notice” . A very special place
Thank you
The McBride Family
NEW ZEALAND


19/7/19
Royal Indigo Villa is a superb house and we thoroughly enjoyed our 4 nights here. The staff were fantastic and we cannot thank them enough for their attentive care and the little touces that made this place so wonderful. Thank you to the chef for the wonderful banquet for our friend Darren’s 50Th birthday celebration .It was a fabulous unforgettable night. Looking forward to returning in the future.
Cheers Caroline & Richard
Australia/Scotland


19/7/19
Wow Wow Wow !!!
Royal Indigo Villa has been a first class experience
Thank you to all the staff who made my partner Darren’s 50th birthday so unforgettable. The food cooked and prepared by Janaka was exquisite.
Thank you again for everything
Love Megan , Darren & Darcy
(Australia)


8/8/2019We had a wonderful week in this beautiful villa, we loved the décor, the fresh flowers every morning, the pools, the delicious dinners, and the attentive staff not to forget our personal Tuk Tuk driver Lucky.Great surfing for our kids and we met with our Sri Lankan friends who own a villa just a block away.Thanks so much

Kees, Fleur Mannes, Keeje, Lidewy(Kenya/Netherlands Africa)